Posted in Uncategorized

Parents Rushing Through the Stores. Why?!

Have you ever found yourself pushing through a store trying to rush, and you forget something so you have to turn around and go back to that isle that you passes a minute ago? Then you rush back to the cashiers to see that the product you picked up was either the wrong one or it’s a bit broken? And in between rushing back and forth you almost bump into people, they let you pass through so nicely because they see you have kids in the cart. Love those people! So nice of them…

These are the pillows I got at the store today.

Once the shopping is all finished and you are driving home, you realize what was the point of rushing when the kids were being so good and the stores aren’t that busy for you to be “fighting through traffic.” Well, that just happened to me. Why is that we have a mind set that way? 

I feel really bad for those people that were watching me rush around the store or those that so nicely let me pass by.

I think back on it and really I didn’t have to rush. I’m going to a home that is clean, no chores to be done (not many at least), the stores aren’t packed because I went early enough that most folks won’t be at the store for another couple of hours. Is it that I have to transition my schedule? I never used to be like this.

Is it that I’m still in the Summer schedule mode? The time where I’m the busiest with all four of my kids with different needs and wants. 

I don’t know why? But I do know this. I realized how I was acting and now I have to deal with that mode. Relax my mind.

Don’t get me wrong. I am the most nicest person out there. I am one of those few people that let the person behind me at the register in front of me just because I had more in my cart. I help those that need help and try to go out of my way to help them at the store when I don’t even work there. But when I have my kids I’m a different person.

These little pumpkins are the other things I picked up today as well. Cute aren’t they?

Perhaps it’s the fact that at any moment the kids will act out. I try to rush out in peace before any of them start to throw a fit or just plain annoy me with their whining. You parents know what I’m talking about. We can have the sweetest kids but they are after all kids. 

I am better than this. I will be better than this. I will try my best to not rush anywhere. I will also try to make any store errands very early in the morning like I normally do to keep that soft paced vibe going.

What are your thoughts? Have you had an experience like this and tried to do better? Please be nice and understanding on your comments. 

Note: Thank you! To those who have let parents go through. To those who let the parents with children be first on and off the elevators. Thank you to those who have held the door open for that parent to go in the store with his/her hands full with kids, strollers, diaper bags, and a “to get” list. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

2 thoughts on “Parents Rushing Through the Stores. Why?!

  1. My dad used to comment how everyone is in such a rush, especially when he was cashing out of a store. He would complain to me how some cashiers would practically throw the money into his hands and he would stand there, fumbling to get his change back into his wallet, then grab his bag. As I get older, I see more and more how he felt. The world is moving too fast and sometimes we get caught up in it unnecessarily. We get to our cars, practically out of breath from rushing, then take a deep breath to bring our stress levels down. I think you’re exactly right about changing our mindsets. We should purpose ourselves to move with calmness and control, especially when we’re with our children (or grandchildren!). Those nervous, anxious attitudes jump right onto them and before you know it, everyone is feeling the pressure. Moms and Dads have a big responsibility to set the tone inside the home and out in public, too. I know you and Seth are doing a great job!! It’s reflected in your words and in the faces of your little ones!

    Like

  2. I always feel rushed…. Never ever seem to be enough time. It’s exhausting and I don’t have any solutions. Keep promising I will be more relaxed and then just one more thing gets suddenly added to my list and all peace of mind disappears 😞 Very timely post… Feeling rushed and stressed today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

