Posted in Blog, Uncategorized

May 2016: A Weekend of Sun, Rain, Wind, and Mud Pies


Saturday was a day of taking in the beauty of Spring. The day started out beautiful as the birds chirping on the tree tops sing a wonderful tune, the smell of fresh cut grass glazing in the air, and the sound of children playing in their yards. The Sun brightly shining and my kids laughing and playing. Giving me gifts of mud pies they had created with dirt and Princess’ water bowl. Princess is our black lab.

Apparently they were pretending to be bakers. They mixed the “batter” with a few other ingredients like pebbles and grass that we had in our yard and gave me their special creation. Their smiles and the twinkle in their eyes just gave me the sensation of joy and pride. I simply smiled back and said, “Wow, thank you guys!” As I looked at that dirty bowl I couldn’t help but tell myself that this was “The best mud pie I’ll ever have.”

I also received a gift of fresh cut grass by one of my daughters. She picked them out herself. She told me to put it in a glass of water so they will last. Which I did.


As I enjoyed the gifts and kicking my feet up on the lawn chairs it soon came to an end as a storm was coming in.

The air soon got to be cooler and the blue skies slowly turned to gray. Before dinner time it was cloudy, windy, and cold. So much for wanting to enjoy some outdoor living throughout the weekend. Outdoor plans became indoors. We had dinner inside as we saw the rain started to pour in. I was going to start washing the dinner plates when I saw lightning and without a curtain, not even blinds, I quickly decided it was not tonight that I was going to do them. I mean, it’s okay to leave dishes once in a while overnight right?

I got the kids ready for bed. Brushed their teeth, read the Bible, and said our prayers. Before we head to bed we always give each other a hug, a kiss, and a “goodnight, I love you.”

Sunday came along and the weather was no better. Daddy had to work, so we had our little church at home. It was a very windy day and mostly cloudy. Very dreary really. That doesn’t stop the kids from wanting to play. We ended the day with a little game of Hide n’ Go Seek.

Moments like these are what I love the most. I love that I can write about them, so when I come back to read them in a few years or so from now I can remember, smile, laugh, and cry.  Then smile a little more. 🙂

Memories are made here. Would you like to share your memories? Feel free to comment.

Author:

I am married to a wonderful man who works hard both at his job and here at home. We've been married for over 10 years now. I am a mother of two girls and two boys all under the age of 9. Soon to have another little addition to our family. We proudly have a Betta Fish and a blue Parakeet. I have a fond love for sewing and being creative in anything I do. I am scared of being my own person puplicly, but here I am ready to show you what I'm all about and what I can do. I'm a wannabe photographer and decorator ;-P ~Elizabeth~

Leave a Reply

