Posted in Cleaning and Organizing

Spring Cleaning: The Bedrooms 

I hope you were able to read my last post about Spring Cleaning. It was an inspirational start-up post, and I hope you were inspired and motivated. Maybe you were and that is why you are here! That’s great! And if you didn’t get a chance to read it, please do. It was written just for you.

We all need the motivation, don’t you think?

Now that Spring has sprung, it is time to continue on to what comes with it… cleaning. I like to start with the bedrooms one room a day. If you are too busy make it the project of the week.

As far as the toys go. I make sure those get done and organized once a month. If you have children, you know this is a must and not a seasonal cleaning.

Here is another tip: Try to work with one side of the room first then move on to the other side. Move everything to one side of the room clean top to bottom. Then move everything back, but not without cleaning the items first. You don’t want to dirty your clean area with your dusty items.

Here is my list of what I do:

  1. Clean ceiling fans and lights: I take a clean microfiber cloth and my homemade spray to dust and clean the light fixture.
  2. Clean windows, window frames, window sills, and window treatments: I wipe down the top of the window frame and work my way down to the window sill. Then finish off by cleaning the glass window inside and out. I can easily access the outside part of the window from the inside. Wash the window treatments if you have any and the blinds.
  3. Clean Furniture and lamps: I first clear out anything that is on top of the furniture and place them on the bed. Cleaning the items before placing them on the bed. Clean and dust the furniture then move them to the opposite side of the room. Clean and dust the walls and baseboards. I have hardwood floors, and I like to vacuum the floor with my vacuum and dust attachment. Then move everything back to its place.
  4. Clean Bed: Take all the sheets and comforter off the bed and wash them. The sheets get washed once a week for me, but I like keeping it clean and since I am cleaning the room I might as well throw it in the wash. I move the bed to clean underneath. Which for me always ends up cluttered for some reason. I happen to find toys and that one missing sock I’ve been looking for! It’s what Spring cleaning is for, right? I then vacuum again with my dust attachment. Move the bed back.
  5. Clean the other half of the room: if it’s the closet I usually get that cleaned out every other month so I don’t need to do this. But for you-you can tackle this part if you’d like. Being that here in New England is still cold, I leave my winter clothes in place and change it out by May. Yes it is still cold by then too, but better than March and April. Which we occasionally continue to get snow in those months!
  6. Floors: Vacuum and mop the floors. Let the floors dry before moving the furniture.
  7. Dressers: Here you can exchange your clothes from your Winter wardrobe to your Spring/Summer wardrobe. I like to keep my Winter outfits because it continues to stay cold around here till late April or early May. Unless it’s just the Desert Gal talking here it is COLD in those months!

What are your ways of tackling the bedrooms for your Spring Cleaning? Any tips or advise you can share? Comment below👇. Thanks!

Copyright. All rights reserved. Feel free to share this tutorial, but please do not copy. Linking this post to your post is fine.

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

6 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: The Bedrooms 

  1. Cleaning is NOT fun. I have been cleaning like crazy and trying to prepare for our upcoming move… I feel like I am failing miserably.

    Like

    1. Oh no… You are doing your best. Having kids in the middle of it all doesn’t make anything any easier, and sometimes our minds are too overwhelmed trying to remember it all. Moving is really big, just keep on doing what you’re doing and eventually you’ll see the light at the end of the tunnel. I really wish you the best. And remember, you are trying the best you can Momma and for that you are already amazing. Best of luck💕😊👍🏼

      Like

Leave a Reply

