Posted in Desserts

Chocolate Covered Raisins


Thinking about Spring. My favorite time of the year, and today is National Chocolate Covered Raisin Day! Wohoo! Who doesn’t love those little yummy treats?

I was inspired to make them and be ready for an Easter treat, which Easter is in 3 days from today by the way. Gasp!

Instead of the normal chocolate-chocolate I wanted to add some nice pastel colors. In order to do this I used white chocolate and some food coloring for this.


Makes: about 150 chocolate covered raisins

Time: 10 minutes approx.

Items you will need:

  • 1 cup of raisins
  • 5 small bowls
  • 3 tablespoons of white chocolate chips for each bowl
  • 1/4 teaspoons of vegetable shortening for each bowl
  • pink food coloring
  • blue food coloring
  • green food coloring
  • yellow food coloring
  • purple food coloring
  • 5 spoons for each colored chocolate
  • Parchment paper
  • Cookie sheet

Instructions:

  1. Place the parchment paper onto cookie sheet.
  2. Making the chocolate covered raisins one bowl at a time.
  3. Place 3 tablespoons of white chocolate into each bowl.
  4. Add the shortening into the chocolate.
  5. Microwave the chocolate in 30 second intervals. Start the first 30 seconds, mix, microwave again for another 30 seconds, mix together again till well blended. Your chocolate should be smooth with no chocolate lumps.
  6. Add the food coloring, one drop at a time till desired color. I used about 2-3 drops for each color till my desired color.
  7. Adding one raisin at a time: dip the raisin and scoop it out with the edge of the spoon and place it on the prepared cookie sheet. Repeat till chocolate is all done.
  8. If the chocolate gets hard again, heat in the microwave in 5 seconds intervals mixing till it is smooth again.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and enjoyed your chocolate covered raisins! Yum Yum!  My chocolate didn’t last a day. Ha!

If you like the jar in the pictures, you can click here for the tutorial.:)

Copyright. All rights reserved.

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

Leave a Reply

