Posted in Cleaning and Organizing

Spring Cleaning: Start-Up


Well, it’s that time of the year. A new season in approach. Goodbye Winter, hello Spring! A new beginning, a fresh start, everything new, green, and full of life. I feel like shouting out loud, “I love you Spring!” twirling around like Julie Andrews as Maria Von Trapp in the Sound of Music.

Then there is that part of the new season that I like and dislike. Spring Cleaning! I like it because the house tends to feel fresher, new, and so clean! The part that I dislike is, like most people who can’t afford a housemaid to do it all for you, is that I have to do it all myself:(.

It’s enough already having to do my everyday chores, that now I have to add Spring Cleaning to the list. As much as I don’t want to, I must have to. So, I need to figure out how I can make this “easier” on me. And if this can help you too, then that’s great! This is why I’m posting this.

Spring is officially here on March 20th. I like to be ahead and stay ahead. Whenever you decide to start, is up to you. This post is just to give you a guide and a motivational boost:).

Where to begin?

They say that the best way to do something is to start and finish the most easiest task. What do I like to do? The hardest thing first. Not the best thing to do because it wears me out too much and way too fast. Then I loose interest and then begin to start feeling frustrated in myself, the home, and everything else. I then won’t be able to function right. Am I the only one that gets like this? I hope not. LOL.

What do I tackle first?

Well, first we start from the top of our home and work our way down. Meaning, that if you have a two-story home, you start at the second (or top) floor. Then to break it down a bit more, we start from the ceiling down to the floor. So, if you have ceiling light fixtures and/or fan we start cleaning those first. Then we head to whatever is in between: say dressers, lamps, beds, headboard, foot-board, etc. If you want to take it a little further, you can take this time to clean out inside your dresser (which I like to do). And finally, the floor. That’s including rugs, under the beds, etc.

So, now that we covered the basics of how-to start Spring cleaning; we can move on to which room we should start.

Hmm? Which room is easiest for you?

Make a list of the rooms you need to tackle. Scratch off the ones you have done. Maybe having a visual of the things you have accomplished can continue to give you the motivation and the pat on the back that says, “I did it! I did so much! Good job me!”

Leave a comment below telling me which room is easiest for you and how you tackle your Spring cleaning. Any tips you can give me will be appreciated and it may help others too:). Happy Spring and happy cleaning to us all!:D

This month, I will be posting my “to-do” list for each room I tackle. If you like to follow me you can through Facebook by clicking here and hit “Like.” You can also follow my boards for inspirations and ideas on Pinterest by clicking here. You can also share all my posts by clicking on the places you’d like to share them below👇.

P.S. Let me be the first to tell you, “You can do it! You are not alone.” And, “Great job you wonderful clean person you!” 😘

Copyright. All rights reserved.

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: Start-Up

  1. I love the “to do list”…. Gives one a great feeling to cross something off the list! For me I usually start in the bedrooms and work out towards the kitchen. And I start now… It will take me til June to finish spring cleaning lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

