Posted in Dog Treats and Eats

Doggie Biscuits (Made With Egg Shells!)

image

I enjoy spoiling our Lab, Princess, once in a while with special homemade treats. As I was looking around for some recipes, I came across a meatloaf recipe where they stuff the egg in the middle of the meatloaf. But get this… they said to keep the egg shell on the egg! Huh? This was new to me. Dogs eating egg shells?

So I did some research, and apparently egg shells are beneficiary to dogs. It is an excellent source of calcium and protein. Hmmm… who knew? I certainly didn’t.

With all this new information, of course I am going to give her that added calcium and protein that she needs in her diet.

I decided to make her an all-natural-healthy-doggie-biscuits. (I think the word “doggie” sounds cute. Don’t you?)

image
As soon as I scooped out some peanut butter she comes running into the kitchen. *Sniff-sniff*

Prep Time: Approximately 10 Minutes

Makes: Approximately 21 Biscuits.

Bake Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 Eggs (Yes! Including the egg shells)
  • 1/2 Cup Banana
  • 2 Tablespoons Unsalted Peanut Butter
  • Water (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C).
  2. With a stand mixer and the paddle attachment; mix together the flour, eggs, banana, and peanut butter on low to medium speed for about a minute. Just enough to mix ingredients together.
  3. Add water one Tablespoon at a time if necessary.
  4. Flour your hands, rolling pin, and outer part of the dough to make it non-sticky.
  5. Roll the dough 1/2″ thick on a lightly floured surface.
  6. Cut the dough with a cookie cutter and place them in a non-stick cookie sheet.
  7. Bake in oven about 30 minutes.
image
I know you haven’t baked them yet, but can I please have some now?
image
There they are! I can see them biscuits. I’m looking right at them.

She was one happy camper. She went bananas over them! Ha!

Copyright. All rights reserved. Please do not use, copy, crop, or share these pictures as your own unless you have a written permission by the owner.

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

2 thoughts on “Doggie Biscuits (Made With Egg Shells!)

  1. If I still had a dog I’d make these for him! Karen gives her dog whole frozen bananas, with the peel still on, for a treat, too. Their dog has a lot of food allergies, but this is one treat that doesn’t bother him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

