Posted in Cleaning and Organizing

Housework: How to get your house clean and keep it that way.

image

As my first post, let me thank you for visiting my page. I thought since this is a new year, it is time to begin thinking of getting your house back in order and how to keep it that way. I am a mother of four wonderful children ages 1-7 years old, a lovely husband, and a 2 year old black Lab. When it comes to housework, I need to be persistent and flexible to manage my sanity and different routines that happen every week because of my husband’s rotating schedule. It messes my day up when he’s home because it’s his “Weekend” off. I’m not the type of person that enjoys last minute schedule changes. I like to know what I’m doing ahead of time. I need time to prepare my mind of any changes. And let me tell you, in this family last minute changes/plans tends to happen a lot! Makes you wonder: how in the world I ever manage to keep up with housework and not stress about it?

Okay, so let’s get to it.

Here is a list of things I get done everyday:

  • A quick wipe clean of the bathroom counter, sink, and toilet. First thing in the morning. Not forgetting the back of the toilet were dust settles on and the mirror.
  • Making beds. Because the rooms looks neater when the beds are made, no matter how clean your rooms might be.
  • Wiping counter tops.
  • Clearing and wiping the table.
  • Cleaning the stove top.
  • Dishes.
  • Vacuuming. Thanks to my dog who sheds this is a must! (I like to use my Shark Navigator Lift-Away Pro. It makes it so easy for me to vacuum my hardwood/tile floors and dust them at the same time).

Not too bad, right?

Here is my week schedule. I do it all in the work week, so I can get Saturdays and Sundays off:

Monday – Laundry:

This not only means washing and drying, but folding and putting them away as well. I get about 7+ loads to do in this family of mine. Two loads of all the kids’ clothes. Three loads of mine and my husband’s. One load of towels. One load of all the sheets. More if we have guests over the weekend. Instead of tackling it all at once, I like to split it.

Tuesday – Laundry and mopping:

Doing the last few loads of laundry. While the first load is washing, I get to vacuum the floors and then start mopping away. Meanwhile I mop, I put the first load of laundry in the dryer and the second load in the washer. By the time I’m done mopping, it is time to fold the first load.

Wednesday – Dusting:

I just grab a microfiber cloth and dust away. I dust the living room, bathroom shelves, bedrooms, and once a month I dust the top of the refrigerator. That’s it!

Thursday – Bathroom:

I did mention earlier that I do a quick wipe-off of the counters and toilet. This day is dedicated to deep clean the bathroom. Using a toilet bowl cleaner and a toilet brush to clean the toilet bowl. Spraying off the shower and tub with a bathroom cleaner, then wiping it to rub off any residue. Then, rinse the shower and tub with water.

Friday – Clean/wipe down Windowsills, walls, heating registers, and baseboards:

I just grab my microfiber cloth and a bottle spray with my favorite all-purpose cleaner. Spray and wipe as I go.

This is my schedule that I can rotate if needed. I don’t stress if I can’t get something done that day because I can always get it done on another day. I just have to make sure I don’t miss more than one day of cleaning or else it can get stressful trying to catch up. You can use this any way that works for you. Shift/Rotate it if you must. Just don’t give up and don’t let pile ups take over your home. Happy cleaning!

Do you have any tips or cleaning schedule that works for you? If so, comment below and share.

 

*This post is free for anyone to use, but please if you are using this on your blog redirect your audience to my post/blog/website. Thanks😄

Author:

I am a mother of two girls (6 & 7) and two boys(2 & 4). I am married to a wonderful man named Seth. We are happy to have Princess, our black lab, in our family. I, proudly, lived all my life in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona until I married my husband on June 2007. That is when I moved here to Western Massachusetts. Over 8 years and 4 kids later, I yet have explored more of New England. Join me on our outings of New England. Plus, I tend to be a little crafty, so you will find a lot of "DIY" posts as well. Pretty much of everything since I love trying new things, and how to make my busy life as a mommy go as smoothly as possible.

9 thoughts on “Housework: How to get your house clean and keep it that way.

  1. Can you come clean for me?? LOL! I not only did my own housework while raising 4 children AND a husband 😉 I also did housekeeping for many clients for 26 years! So, to be honest, now that I’ve retired from the work outside my home, I seem to feel a bit retired when it comes to ‘deep cleaning’ my my house now! In some ways, I think it’s just because there’s no one here to mess things up, except my hubby, of course! He keeps me busy picking up after him. Gotta love him!
    But really, here in Maine, a lot of people do both a Spring and Fall ‘Grande Menage’ which interprets into ‘the big cleaning.’ I never really heard of people doing this when I lived in Massachusetts, or at least no one calling it ‘Spring Cleaning.’ It could just be that I moved to northern Maine when I was 17, so I hadn’t had any experience in doing it myself yet.
    For the most part, I think it’s a great time to really go through your stuff while you clean out drawers and closets, and also wash walls, woodwork, curtains and even ceilings if possible. Everything smells clean and fresh and you also have lots of things to donate or sell.
    Keep up the good work on your blog, Elizabeth! I love how you simplified all the important cleaning tasks!
    PS….Mr. Clean Magic Eraser, along with a good bath/soap scum cleaner, works GREAT on shower walls and bathtubs (and sinks, etc) to easily get rid of soap scum. I LOVE Tilex Bathroom Soap Scum cleaner, but unfortunately, they no longer sell it anywhere. You can only buy the mildew cleaner in that brand.
    PPS….It also helps if you dry off your shower walls each time you shower (or after everyone is done, at least). This cuts your cleanings in half and keeps the shower walls and fixtures looking like new! That’s my tip of the day!

    Like

    1. Thank you😀 And thank you for the tip. I guess I would have to write another post on Spring and Fall cleaning😉. Because that is something that has to get done as well. Just like you said, “… It’s a great time to really go through stuff.” P.S. Congrats on being the first to comment on my blog!😄

      Like

  2. Oh I really like this, so happy for you I also got the shark navigator lift away. I use it for my carpets and hard floors. No broomstick for me! I really enjoyed reading this I am one of these mom’s that likes structure because if I don’t I start feeling overwhelmed and behind when I don’t stick to my routine.

    Like

  3. Two big things I do:
    1) empty the dishwasher first thing in the morning…. Ive timed it, only takes 5 min but it keeps me from piling up the dirty dishes and having a big mess to deal with at the end of the day.
    2) I grocery shop about once a week. Do on grocery day, before I put away my new groceries, I clean out my fridge. I give the shelves a quick wipe, bring food that needs to get used to the front and toss expired stuff. once again, only takes about 5 min but saved me tons of effort later on!

    Like

      1. The best thing I ever bought for cleaning my own house was my central vac! No more canister vacuums for me! And I despise uprights! We have a shop vac to use in the garage and one in the cellar. I also never use a ‘broomstick’ anymore, but that’s because it’s so nice to take out the central vac on a regular basis and whiz through the whole house with the 35 ft. hose! We have one vacuum outlet on the first floor, one on the second and a third in the basement. I was able to get an industrial strength (like you would use for hotels that run multiple vac outlets at a time) for a very reduced price when the U.S. dollar was worth around $1.55 Canadian many years ago. I would never go back to any other kind of vacuum and if you ever get the chance to install one in your own homes, I really recommend it. Mine is a Eureka Boss. Stay away from the Electrolux brand, though. They are expensive and much more complicated to use. BTW, Karen has one of those lift away vacs like you do, and she loves it, too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

